News, Notes, and Updates

*No School Monday, January 15th*


Attendance Line – IMPORTANT REMINDER: Should your student be sick from school, Please remember to call the attendance line, 726-6041, to leave a message before 8:00 am. You are welcome to email the teacher after you have called the attendance line number first. Many thanks for your help with this matter.


Invest in Kids Act – New bill passed: Looking for a great way to give? You can make a donation for scholarships at FBA and receive 75% of that donation back as a state tax credit.
It’s easy with this new bill! For example if you owe $7500 in Illinois state income tax and you contribute $10,000 to CTFIL, you eliminate your entire income tax liability because 75% of $10,000 is $7,500. Almost all of your contribution ($9,500) goes to your designated school for scholarships! Both businesses and individuals can participate. For more information contact, Josiah Munton, josiah.munton@fbaofallon.org, to see how this could benefit our school and you as well.


FBA Annual Players/Coaches Game – Please come and join us as our basketball season comes to a close with our annual Players/coaches game, February 9th in the gym. Doors open @ 3:15 and game starts @ 3:30. There is a $2 admission fee to help with our athletic fund. See you then!!!


K-8th grade Skate Night - From 6-8pm on Thursday, February 15, 2018, we will have our K-8th grade family skate night at Fun Spot in Belleville. This is a GREAT night of family fun. Watch for more information soon! K-8th grade Spirit Week will begin on February 12-15th and more information will be coming home through your homeroom teachers.


Friday, April 20, 2018 – First Baptist Academy’s Spring Dinner Auction: Mark your calendar and join us for a wonderful time! There is still room for you to join in the fun and help with the Auction. If you are interested in helping with this year’s auction contact Amanda McDade, amanda_mcdade625@yahoo.com, or Valerie Thaxton, vlt.redcar3@gmail.com, to volunteer or ask questions. We would love to have your help!!!


April 26, 27, & 28th – The Sound of Music is coming! Our students are hard at work learning and preparing for the musical and we would love for you to mark your calendars to join us for a special night! Tickets will be on sale beginning on April 3rd and may be purchased from Sheri at the receptionist desk in the atrium.


Tuition Assistance Form – If you are in need of filing for tuition assistance for next year, forms are available in the office. All forms for consideration are due on or before April 28, 2018. New forms must be filled out each year.


SCRIP Program: Our next Scrip order is due in the office by noon on Tuesday, January 23, 2018.
Box Tops Contest: Our next box tops contest begins on February 1 and ends on February 15th. Please send in those box tops with your students and help us raise money for our school. Box tops can be sent in all year long so keep those box tops coming!!


FBA Yearbook- Keep those pictures coming! Thanks to so many of you who are sending them to us. Your help is greatly appreciated. If you are interested in helping or sending pictures please contact: (K-5th) monicamommy@yahoo.com, and (6-12th) Rachel.christensen@fbaofallon.org.


School Cancellation Due to Weather – When weather is such that we need to close school, school closings will be listed on KSDK Channel 5, KMOV Channel 4, and KTVI -FOX News Channel 2. Look for First Baptist Academy O’Fallon, IL to be listed. Emergency text messages will also be sent to those who have signed up to receive those texts.


Dates to Remember:
Monday, January 8 Report Cards
Monday, January 15 Martin Luther King’s Birthday (No School)
Friday, January 26 All K-12th grades – Early Dismissal 11:15 a.m. (No lunch)
Week of February 5 3rd Quarter Progress Reports (if needed)
Friday, February 16 Parent Teacher Conference Week – (No School)
Monday, February 19 Presidents Day (No School)
** Lunch Order forms available on 2/26 and due back NLT 3/2 @ 3:15
Friday, March 9 3rd Quarter Ends
Thursday, March 15 Report Cards
Friday, March 16 No School
Wednesday, March 28- Monday, April 2 Easter Break (No School)
Monday, April 9-Thursday, April 12 Standardized Testing
4th Quarter Progress Reports (if needed)
Friday, April 20 FBA Auction
Thursday, April 26, Friday, April 27,
Saturday, April 28 FBA Musical
Friday, May 4 Last Day for Seniors
Monday, May 7 Zoo Trip – K-5th grade (tentative)
Wednesday, May 9 Last Day for 8th grade
Thursday, May 10, Friday, May 11,
Monday, May 14 Final Exams - 9-11th grade
Friday, May 11 High School Graduation
Monday, May 14 8th Grade Graduation
Tuesday, May 15 Field Day – (K-5th only - tentative)
Wednesday, May 16 Last Chapel and Awards Day – Early Dismissal 11:15 (no lunch)
Last Day of School – No Emergency Days Used